Friday, August 5, 2011

IOC appointed Gunilla Lindberg to Chair PyeongChang 2018 Coordination Commission

International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Jacques Rogge has appointed Ms Gunilla Lindberg to chair the Coordination Commission for the XXIII Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, Republic of Korea, in 2018. PyeongChang was awarded the 2018 Olympic Winter Games last month in Durban. Lindberg will lead a strong, multinational team of men and women, who will be responsible for assisting and guiding the PyeongChang Organising Committee during the period leading up to the Olympic Winter Games, as well as monitoring the progress of preparations.
Lindberg, who led the 2018 Evaluation Commission, will be rejoining the IOC Executive Board as of the end of the month, building on her two previous mandates as a member (2000-2004) and Vice-President (2004-2008). An IOC member since 1996 and Secretary General of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) since 2004, Lindberg brings vast experience from her time spent on Coordination Commissions for five Olympic Games.
"Ms Lindberg has all the qualities and charisma to lead the team who will be responsible for assisting PyeongChang in the next seven years", said IOC President Rogge. "She knows exactly what it takes to stage successful Olympic Winter Games and through the work that she carried out while leading the 2018 Evaluation Commission. She is already well acquainted with PyeongChang’s Olympic project and immediate priorities. She will be a strong ally to the Organising Committee and will ensure that we see great Games in 2018", added Rogge.
Commenting on her appointment, Lindberg said: "I am delighted and honoured to have been chosen to head the 2018 Coordination Commission. Having chaired the 2018 Evaluation Commission, I have first-hand knowledge of the many strengths that PyeongChang and South Korea have to offer to the Olympic Movement. I am confident that, with the assistance of my very experienced colleagues, we will help PyeongChang deliver outstanding Winter Games in 2018".
The members of the Commission represent the many stakeholders of the Olympic Movement, including the athletes, the National Olympic Committees, and International Sports Federations, and act as a link between them, the Organising Committee and other Olympic family stakeholders, thereby ensuring the coordination necessary to help deliver successful Olympic Games.
The composition of the Coordination Commission is as follows: Gunilla Lindberg (SWE), IOC Member, Chair, ; Gilbert Felli (SUI), Olympic Games Executive Director; Angela Ruggiero (USA), IOC Member and Athletes’ Commission Representative; Gian-Franco Kasper (SUI), AIOWF Representative; Tsunekazu Takeda (JPN), ANOC Representative; Ottavio Cinquanta (ITA), IOC Member; HRH Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark (DEN), IOC Member; René Fasel (SUI), IOC Member; Barry Maister (NZL), IOC Member; Adam L. Pengilly (GBR), IOC Member; Zaiqing Yu (CHN), IOC Member.

No comments: