Tuesday, February 15, 2011

2011 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships Day 9: The Day Before the Nations' Battle

Tomorrow the best nations of the Ski World will compete on the Nations Team Event at the 2011 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. In 2005 the Event was introduced into the program of the Alpine Ski World Championships, but only two out of three events were held. Due to bad weather conditions the event was cancelled in Val d'Isere 2009. The FIS changed the rules to make it ordinary and established the new Team Event at the season World Cup finals in Garmisch-Partenkirchen last year.
"We look forward to the 3rd edition of the Nations Team Event. I hope everyone will see for themselves that the Nations’ Team Event is one of the most important events for the future. We have seen in disciplines like Cross-Country Skiing and Ski Jumping that the team events are the most-loved events for the fans", commented FIS President Gian Franco Kasper and added: "After a successful event here at Garmisch-Partenkirchen, we hope that the NTE will not just be part of the FIS World Championships and World Cup but also on the program of the Olympic Winter Games in Sochi 2014".
The Nations' Team Event at the the 41st FIS Alpine World Ski Championships will be carried out in the Parallel format. The Teams, consisting of six athletes maximum, compete in a playoff table. They compete against in knock out rounds. The winner is qualified for the next round and the loser is out of the competition until there are only two teams for the final.
The big favorite is Austria, they have been the best nation in the Ski World Cup for over 20 years. Austria had won all the overall nations rankings in FIS World Cup since the season 1989/1990. They are the favourites since FIS invented the Nations Team Event. The Alpine country dominated the World Cup. Austria's Team in Garmisch-Partenkirchen is represented by World Champions Benjamin Raich, Michaela Kirchgasser and Anna Fenninger. Slalom World Cup leader Marlies Schild, Romed Baumann and Philipp Schörghofer complete the Team.
In 2005 in Bormio Germany was the winner. Austria won in Aare in 2007. Who will be the winner tomorrow?


Qualification 11:00 (Austria, USA, Italy, France and Switzerland are pre-qualified for the quarter final).

Croatia - Canada
Germany - Slovakia
Sweden - Czech Republic

Quarter Final 11:25

Q1: Austria - Croatia/Canada
Q2: USA - Italy
Q3: France - Germany/Slovakia
Q4: Switzerland - Sweden/Czech Republic

Semi Final 1 11:55

S1: Winner Q1 - Winner Q2
S2: Winner Q3 - Winner Q4

Small Final 12:15

Runner up S1 - Runner up S2

Big Final 12:25

Winner S1 - Winner S2

No comments: